An increasing number of children are overweight which could result many problems when they grow older both in terms of their health and health care costs. Why do you think so many children are overweight? What could be done to solve this problem?

Nowadays, many young people are above average weight, which could lead to several problems when they grow older. The issue is due to sedentary lifestyle and unhealthy diets, both of which can be solved by physical activities and balanced diets.

One main reason why children are overweight is a sedentary lifestyle. Today, children spend most of their time sitting and having a non-active lifestyle, which is really unhealthy in terms of their health. For instance ,children usually spend 4-5 hours sitting in classrooms at school, and then they return home and spend more hours sitting while completing homework. Moreover, one more reason for the issue is poor diets. A lot of young people right now eat junk food and unhealthy meals, as a result they do not get the nutrients and vitamins from food as they should. For example, many young people skip vegetables and proteins and instead eat fast foods and unhealthy snacks which are high in calories but low in nutrients.

There are two options to tackle childhood obesity. Firstly, Schools should include more physical activities to keep the children active. Such as, schools can increase the number of physical education classes per week. Secondly, children should consume more vegetables,fruits and proteins, and get vitamins and nutrients from their meals.

In conclusion, children’s obesity is a serious problem which can cause problems later in life. However, a sedentary lifestyle and poor diets can be cope with physical activities and better diets.