An increasing number of people choosing to have cosmetic surgery in order to improve their appearance. Why do people have operations to change the way they look? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In today’s society, having an appearance reformed has become a common practice, allowing people to enhance their personal exteriority. This essay will figure out some major social reasons and feasible negatives of this phenomenon.

When it comes to the causes of this trend, we cannot deny the high appreciation of cosmetic surgery in public. Digital platforms are now very developed and accessible, creating more chances for users to follow KOLs or influencers who have beautiful and perfect images. This might lead to not only the pressure and low self-esteem about their defects such as big eyes or small hands, but also the high demand of completing appearance to adapt to the strict beauty standards. For instance, a practical study presented that about 80% of surgery patients said that social media and online images are the main reasons for their operation decision. Furthermore, pretty mien is considered as an advantage that helps them open more job opportunities and achievements, especially in service, entertaining or media fields, which workers have to utilize their beauty to work with consumers.

However, this trend has already resulted in many negative effects, one of the most avoidable ones is health problems. According to some professional doctors, when overusing operations to improve the appearance, there will be some side-effects caused, such as heart abilities disorders, low blood pressure, or even loss of life. Besides, a failed surgery can also lead to some serious effects on patients’ mental health like depression or long-term stress. In addition, due to the high cost of changing the way they look via operations, concerns about financial burden issues in the family may be more vital. Instead, people are able to invest in business or volunteering to receive profits for both themselves and the community.