An international language would remove one of the main differences which separates people of different nationalities and this would lead to greater international understanding and co-operation. There should be one international language which everyone agrees to learn and speak. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

I believe most people would agree that there is already an international language set for everyone to learn and speak – English. The English language is taught in most schools throughout the world and is the most used language all over social media. Moreover, a lot of commercial products, locally and imported, are either in English or have English translations. Over the years, English has connected different nationalities. It is easier to communicate with other people, travel to other countries, learn about different cultures, and appreciate the world around us better. This shows that having a single language for everyone to learn and speak provides better international relations and understanding of differences.

What would it look like if we don’t have a single language to connect us all? One could misunderstand another person’s message and cause a fight. Another could misread a product label and miss out on an allergen. A healthcare staff could misread and misinterpret medical information which could potentially lead to medical errors. The domino effect caused by a language barrier can either cause a reversible consequence or something critical as death.

While I understand the importance of preserving a culture, I believe it wouldn’t hurt for everyone to understand a single unifying language. We are currently in the process of transitioning to this with the English language. With technology’s help as well, learning English is not as difficult as it used to. I believe that we should continue going this route – agreeing to learn and speak English as a universal language while still maintaining our own cultures.