Animal Welfare Principles Have Imortant Role in The Animal Testing Laboratory, Do you Agree with that, give an explanation and example from the implementation in your laboratory

Animal Welfare concepts are fundamental standard of modern science, especially in the animal testing laboratory field. There are five aspects, well-known as five freedoms principt such as freedom from hunger/thirst, discomfort, pain/injury/disease, fear/distress, and freedom to express their natural behaviour. Overall animal welfare have three reasons of its importances in the laboratory animal field from scientific aspect, ethical, and social aspect.

The sciencetist often uses the phrase, “Happy Animas Makes Good Science”, That is why I am agree that Animal Welfare principles is essentials. In my opinion the first reason is the implementation of animal welfare ensure the animals free from poor environtment husbandry, so this condition make the animals unstress and reflect to the accuracy and reliability of the experimental results. Second aspect is ethical framework, 3 Rs principle also constantly improving methods to refine the procedures and minimize pain and distress such as humane endpoint in the euthanasia procedure. The third cause are social aspect, generally the society accepts animal use in the research only if it is proven to be necessart and humane. Maintaning high welfare standards is essential for transparancey to the public or another researcher the moral cost of using living beings.

The examples from application of animal welfare in my laboratory divide into five aspects. The Animals has given foods and water depend on their daily requirements. They also guaranted free from discomfort with living space based on the literature. To ensure the experimental animal free from fear and distress , we have acclimatization procedures to reduce physicall stress due to the transportation process or new environtment. Freedom from pain/injury/disease can maintain from humane endpoint procedure using the best practice of euthanasia methods. The last freedom aspects need to implement is make the animal can express their natural behaviour with social housing or environtmental enrichment such as given variety food textures for primate in their cages.