The increasing reliance on personalized AI assistants (like smart home devices and chatbots) is leading to a decline in face-to-face human interaction. Do the advantages of this technological advancement outweigh the disadvantages?

The increase on the reliance of AI assistants is leading to a decline in the face-to-face interactions with other humans. This statement is absolutely true and the disadvantages of this technological advancement outweighs the advantages.

The reality of people talking about their emotions or problems to an AI chatbot rather than an actual human being is one of the biggest disadvantages of AI. Instead of communicating with an actual person with feelings we turn to a virtual bot who is being automated to respond to us, it responds to us by training on our data, our habits, our daily life. When we are crying infront of a screen asking for advice we get long paragraphs and words of comfort which have no human warmth. Let’s go for actual human connection.

On the other hand AI home assistants are one of the greatest advantages of this technological advancement. For instance, if we want to cook something instead of constantly looking at our notebooks or a screen for the steps, an AI home assistant can help guide us through the whole process. It helps us to stay focused on bringing together and arranging all the ingredients instead of stressing what the next step will be, it reminds us of how many minutes it has been since we have boiled something and to pay attention to our next step of the process.

In conclusion, while AI can be making us distance ourselves from eachother, it can also be helping us to do certain tasks easily, but in my opinion it is better to keep AI for helping to do tedious work instead of letting it be our emotional support.