Art classes such as painting and music are being removed from school programs in some countries. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, in some countries, schools are removing art subjects, such as painting and music. I think this trend is positive as well as negative.

On the one hand, in the schools where art subjects are being removed, students have more leisure time to spend on more important things. Firstly, they can focus on their specific subjects, such as math, science, or history, which can be more helpful for their future university major and career. Secondly, it might help them to try out another thing, such as vocational skills. As a result, they might be able to find their talent in these fields rather than just painting and music.

On the other hand, there are some drawbacks of this phenomenon. To begin with, without art classes, young generation tend to lose their local traditions. For example, there are some countries with their traditional music heritage, such as Khoomei: throat singing of Mongolia, and schools play a key role to provide information about the value of traditional music to students and pass the heritage to the next generation. Another issue this trend may cause is not being able to discover the hidden talent of students to music and art. Just to give one example, if schools encourage art, the possibility of discovering hidden artistic superiority may increase.

In conclusion, with taking art subjects down, schools can achieve good and bad performances among students. I believe this trend may have both benefits and drawbacks.