Art classes, such as painting or drawing, are as important for children’s development as other subjects, so it should be compulsory in high school. Do you agree or disagree?

It has been claimed that art-related courses play a crucial role in children’s overall development so they should be taught at high school as a compulsory subject. From my perspective, while I agree with the benefits of art on children’s enhancement , I disagree with the addition of art on mandatory curriculum due to its consequences in academic outcomes.

On the one hand, I contend that the option to insert art into academic subjects is advantageous for several reasons. Firstly, art could act as a form of recreation for children. A relentless focus on academic subjects such as math or literature can contribute to stress or burnout in students because they have no time to immerse themselves in other less demanding activities. Hence, exhilarating and amusing lessons in art classes through drawing and painting could help students escape from overwhelming knowledge to unwind. In addition, art is conducive to students’ overall improvements in creativity and sympathy. This is because art classes allow students to think out of the box and freely express their perspectives, leading to a comprehensive understanding of the emotions and subliminal messages conveyed by artists through aesthetic works rather than being confined to one’s individual views and focusing on theoretical practices.

On the other hand, rendering art compulsory could exert several detrimental impacts

a student’s academic performance as it is a gifted subject. If putting art into the studying curriculum, students without innate traits might encounter several difficulties in catching up with others, deterring them from achieving higher scores in their study programme.

In conclusion, despite being beneficial to children’s growth and outlet after absorbing a huge amount of knowledge, art should not be included in compulsory curriculum. Instead, it is necessary for schools to find out children’s strengths and competencies so that they can fully develop their potential.