Art classes, such as painting or drawing, are as important for children’s development as other subjects, so it should be compulsory in high school. Do you agree or disagree?

There is a belief that art classes, such as painting and drawing, should be integrated into high school curriculum because they are crucial for students’ comprehensive development as other subjects. I am completely in favor of that idea.

To begin with, art classes can boost the students’ creativity. Indeed, during those classes, pupils learn how to comprehensively as well as vividly describe their opinions through their paintings and drawings. This, as a result, can motivate students to brainstorm new ideas and methods so that they can effectively convey their opinions to their classmates and teachers. Due to continuous brainstorming, students’ creativity can be significantly enhanced. This effect can also be boosted if teachers can encourage their students to think differently, especially outside the scope of textbooks.

Moreover, the integration of art into high school educational content potentially generates young successful artists. It is generally considered that various artists can reach milestones in their career at an early age. As a result, art classes in high school can help identify talented students, immediately giving them enough training or directing them appropriately so that they may reach high achievements in their art career after graduation. In addition, art classes can also help various students themselves realize their talents that they have not identified, contributing to correct career choices when enrolling in universities.

In conclusion, it is compulsory to possess art classes, such as painting and drawing, in high school because they play a pivotal role in the comprehensive growth of children as similarly as other subjects. Specifically, they can enhance students’ creative skills, potentially generate young artists and appropriate career choices.