Artificial intelligence (AI) will replace most human jobs in the future. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Artificial Intelligence continues to shape the future of our lives, bringing revolutionary changes across almost every industry in the world. Many believe that AI will eventually take over most jobs, leading to mass unemployment. Although this can be true to a certain extent, I believe that AI is not advanced enough to replace the majority of employment, as replicating major human skills such as emotional intelligence, creative thinking and complex decision-making remains nearly impossible.

AI has proven its remarkable efficiency in performing many error-prone and repetitive manual tasks in various domains such as data processing and analysis, logistics and customer service. However, it fails to surpass a human touch when it comes to providing effective solutions in the areas that involve direct communication with a diverse client base. For instance, although many businesses have increasingly started using robots for their customer service, it is noted that most of the customers prefer humans over chatbots, as the latter fails to understand complex enquiries and requirements that need creative and emotionally intelligent solutions. Therefore businesses cannot afford to completely replace its human labour with automated machines, at the risk of losing the trust and loyalty of their customers.

Moreover, professional fields such as healthcare, education and management, essentially require qualities like empathy, critical thinking and ethical decision making, which machines cannot replicate. This is because AI itself heavily relies on human supervision and its performance is driven by a set of algorithms rather than intentionality and conscious thinking. For example, an AI-powered robot, replacing a skilled doctor seems unlikely as it is an area that requires high sensitivity and applied knowledge. A machine that depends purely on in-built data algorithms and logical reasoning can be highly unreliable when it comes to providing accurate diagnosis and treatment, given the magnificent and unpredictable nature of the human mind and body.

In conclusion, Although it is agreeable that AI can replace human workers in certain fields, due to its the ability to predict, automate and optimize various tasks with unwavering precision and efficiency, it still lacks the fundamental attributes such as creativity, critical thinking and complex applications of knowledge which are vital for major professions. AI completely replacing human workforce in the future thus, remain as a distant possibility.