As a result of tourism and the increasing number of people travelling, there is a growing demand for more flights. What problems does this have on the environment? What measures could be taken to solve these problems?. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

There is a growing trend in the demand for more flights because of tourism and the increasing rate of travelers. This essay will explore how noise pollution and global warming have become issues as a result of this trend, and also proffer how government intervention can help address these problems.

One of the challenges posed by increased demand for flights is noise pollution. Airports were once located far away from residential areas but urbanization has led to innovations, that occupy large proportion of lands, making more people to move to areas close to the airport. Noise pollution has negative impacts on human health and can lead to certain health conditions such as high blood pressure, hearing impairment, sleep disorders and anxiety. For instance, my aunt, who lives near an airport, has developed hearing impairment due to loud sounds from aircraft. Another problem that has affected the environment is global warming. The emissions of carbon dioxide from the fumes of aircraft have contributed to the rise of this issue, leading to higher temperatures, which affect vegetations and humans. If the demand for more flights continues to rise, these challenges are likely to worsen.

To solve these issues, the government should implement laws that prohibit people from building their homes. Houses should be constructed by the government and only multi-story buildings must be built in cities, where airports are located. These laws will help in optimization of land use and encourage shared apartments providing more land space far from the airports for residents. Also, more than one family will be able to have their homes in one building.

In conclusion, the growing demand for air transportation by tourists and other travelers have led to continuous noise pollution and global warming in our environment. However, the interventions and implementation of policies by the public sector can effectively tackle these issues.