As compared to the past, children these days spend more of their leisure time indoors with computers and TV and less time outdoors. Describe some of the problems this lack of outdoor leisure time can cause and suggest at least one possible solution.

In modern life, technologies play a vital role in our daily life, and the young generation is not an exception. Kids are more interested in computers, smartphone than spending time on outdoor activities. It may therefore cause negative impacts on the development of them, some solutions need to be called out to tackle.

To begin, overusing smart technological devices can negatively affect not only children’s physical health, but also mental health. Children are more likely to get eye-weakness or lower back pain due to sitting a long time in front of a screen. The fact that the number of young children suffering depression increases dramatically in recent years, one of the reasons is the lack of outdoor activities. Besides, spending their majority of time on computers might cause difficulty for children to communicate in real life, for example, they may lose face-to-face interaction with friends. Furthermore, kids can be addicted to video games and tend to be more violent because of effects from game characters.

There are some necessary solutions that can be taken to avoid the causes. Firstly, it is recommended that parents should strictly monitor their offspring and set a suitable schedule to balance between indoor and outdoor activities. They also can register a summary camping or volunteer program to enhance social connection for their kids. Secondly, extracurricular activities and sports events should be encouraged to raise kid’s sports hobbies at a young age, which can therefore reduce their time on technologies.

In conclusion, from my perspective, spending time outdoors brings plenty of benefits for our health, especially for personal development as well. Families and schools should encourage their kids to attend playing sports, for instance, to limit time using computers or TV.