As computers translate quickly and accurately, learning foreign languages is a waste of time. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Technological advances in the twenty-first century have allowed for the rise of pretty impressive online translation tools, famously Google translate or the more recent OpenAI ChatGPT. These have even further contributed to arguments claiming language learning is not necessary, even a waste of time, as international business can be conducted largely, or exclusively, with the support of these tools. As a passionate language learner myself, I completely disagree. While online translators are indeed very helpful, they simply cannot replicate and replace the human touch in communication. Because communication goes so far beyond just using the correct vocabulary, we must continue to learn foreign languages if we wish to be able to communicate effectively.

Some people argue in favor of translation tools for their speed. Because you can type an email, for example, into an online translator and instantly replicate the same text in almost any world language of your choosing, many think taking the time to learn and understand a language so that you can produce similar texts on your own is a waste of time. They may point to the state of the world 100 years ago, when foreign language learning was necessary for international diplomacy, and compare it to modern solutions (inner-ear microphones with translations, instantly-translated texts, etc). However, although the speed of these resources is certainly appealing, they are still not a feasible solution for everyday communication. It still takes time to type out or to dictate a response into the translator, translate it, and play it back for the person who you want to communicate with. Imagine wanting to talk to someone and instead having 30-60 seconds of dead time while they type their response into an online translator. In that same time, they could well have asked the question (albeit in a simpler syntax) and gotten a response. Not to forget–nonverbal communication is a large part of our daily interaction with others. Simply pointing at a product you want can give you the same result as fumbling with a phone or translator to ask for it.

People argue in favor of online translators not only for their speed, but for their accuracy. While they are largely accurate, in my experience, online translators only know one way to produce an idea. In almost every world language, there is a large range of synonyms and different ways to express the same idea. Depending too highly on online translators can result in a very robotic, emotionless, and bland style of communication. We need to continue learning foreign languages if we want to maintain our current standards of communication–fluidity, flexbility, humor and emotion are all very important elements of conversation that computer translators often cannot replicate. I myself am highly motivated to continue learning German, the foreign language I have dedicated almost half of my life to, because I am constantly striving towards this goal of sounding like a “true native, ” and not someone who learned a few key words in a book or from the internet and can apply them to conversation in a very sterile, mediocre way (much in the style of Google translate).

Language learning is a passion of mine, and for that reason, I am adamantly opposed to the notion that the learning of foreign languages is a waste of time. That cannot be further from the truth. I think we should look at online translator tools as just that–as tools. They can help us in forming sensical ideas in a foreign language, but we should not (and cannot) rely on them 100% to replace all other communication.