As computers translate quickly and accurately, learning foreign languages is a waste of time. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As computers evolve, it becomes evident that their translating capabilities are getting more advanced. Furthermore, the introduction of artificial intelligence enhanced computers’ accuracy in translating. In addition, it introduced real-time translating for the first time, which was revolutionary, it allowed translating in real-time, and it allowed dubbing videos in a matter of seconds.

Despite that, I think that a complete replacement of human contribution in translating is not possible for several reasons. Computers are machines ultimately, programmed to do a specific job. Thus, interactions and sharing feelings are not possible. In addition, the intelligence of the machine essentially depends on the intelligent of the programmer who programmed it. Furthermore, artificial intelligence is not perfect yet. Several simple mistakes were found in grammar and punctuation. In addition, many artificial intelligence software programs are not capable of voice input, and if they are, they require a high-priced subscription.

Taking that into consideration, the need to learn languages is still vital, and many countries still spend remarkable efforts on teaching languages. The different courses for different languages are gaining more popularity rather than losing it. Nevertheless, it is good to use technology to some extent. For example, you could consider using some translators as aids for you essay, but you should not rely on them independently. Furthermore, computers are tools ultimately, relying on them independently is not sufficient for the sake of languages and translating.

In conclusion, computers are capable of doing some basic translating tasks. Although, that does not indicate that you do not need to learn languages anymore. Computers should be used as a complementary tools.