As computers translate quickly and accurately, learning foreign languages is a waste of time. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, artificial intelligence has been known to be particularly active in every aspect of humankind’s life, especially in linguistic-related fields that can easily translate any language into another language. However, the necessity of learning a foreign language is undoubtedly due to its essential role in an individual’s development. For this reason, I continue to maintain that acquiring multiple languages is an essential requirement for linguistic proficiency.

Without a doubt, because computer software saves time, it seems like a helpful tool for language learners. For instance, Jisoo from Blackpink finds that Google Translate is an invaluable resource for expressing her own ideas because she struggles with her English. Even with all of these internet programs’ advantages, a machine can only translate words for words emotionlessly—something that only people with superior language skills worldwide are capable of doing.

As a matter of fact, I firmly believe that everyone should learn any kind of language, regardless of their artificial intelligence. Firstly, a multilingual brain can effectively handle tasks in a more efficient way. Numerous academic studies have demonstrated that 90% of people who are bilingual are able to multitask because they must be able to operate in a language other than their first or native tongue and must be able to shift, switch, and comprehend multiple languages in real time. Secondly, the ability to learn a new language can also benefit an individual in social aspects. To illustrate this, an article about the economy in 2020 described that being multilingual would increase your salary by two percent over 10 years due to the linguistics related to every aspect of humankind’s life.

In conclusion, even computers are useful in a variety of sectors, including engineering, medicine, and computation. I believe that learning a foreign language can be very advantageous for an individual’s profession