As countries develop, more and more people buy and use their cars. Do you think the advantages of this trend for individuals outweigh its disadvantages for environment?

Nowadays, in many developing countries, people tend to buy more vehicles than ever. While this trend could be advantageous for individuals, I believe that disadvantages are far more detrimental.

It is true that everyone owning cars could be convenient for us. First upside of this phenomenon could be faster and more convenient movement in urbanised areas. Members of a family also would not have to share one vehicle which is problematic when many members have to go to different places at one time. For example, many people in America, including even school students, own cars and therefore do not complain about problems regarding transportation and infrastructure. Another benefit of owning cars could be disposal of public transport. Governments would not be worried about their people’s transportation if everyone had their own cars. This would result in removal of transport ministries and systems, saving tons of money for country.

However, despite these advantages, threats imposed by the trend to the environment are very significant. The most obvious disadvantage is CO2 emissions. Many cars today do not operate on electric sources, emitting most of the greenhouse gases worldwide. In Tashkent, for example, a notorious case of air pollution was registered in 2023, as the result of the increased number of cars. Secondly, more cars would lead to unnecessary usage of vital resources, which is known as consumerism. Cars require fuel, which is considered as valuable. According to studies, by 2050 we will have run out of this resource.

In conclusion, I acknowledge several benefits for people if they bought more cars. However, I believe that detrimental effects on the environment outweigh the convenience of the trend.