As Earth runs out of natural resources, we have started to look to space for solutions. However, some people argue that this is the wrong thing to do. To what extent do you agree with them? What alternatives might there be to exploiting space for natural resources?

To some individuals, the idea of space exploration in term of finding resources is not a solution for natural resources’ scarcity on Earth. In my opinion, exploring space to fulfill human’s need of resources is not a good option.

To begin with, there are several reasons why the idea is legit. Firstly, the amount of money that is going to be spent for outer space exploration will be dramatically huge. Other than spending the money for uncertainty, it is much better to spend it on researches. For example, one country can focus its research on making a renewable energy, which could be from the feces of animals. This research will benefit many countries for its success, and can be a lesson for improvement in research. Secondly, space is definitely hard to explore. Not only it needs financial supports, it also takes time to understand. In addition, human technology is still not capable enough to explore the outer space.

There is one alternative to counter the idea of exploiting space. By making a great technology that can produce renewable resources, scarcity should not be a problem any more. For instance, a country could make a machine that could generate electricity from sea water. This machine is surely a big movement to get the benefit from Earth’s large oceans. In addition, governments can endorse the usage of this technology by giving incentives to users to give more awareness of this technology availability.

All in all, the idea of space exploitation to meet humans’ need of natural resources is not a good thing. By spending money to enlarge the knowledge of generating renewable resources, and by being more reasonable with the potential hardness of space exploration could absolutely degrade the idea. Other than space, people should focus more on making a better technology to answer scarcity problems.