As more and more information is available online, the role of textbooks has become obsolete. Therefore, universities should replace traditional books with digital materials. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

The increasing availability of online information contributes to the diminishing of textbook usage. So, some people consider that digital books ought to take the place of traditional materials at universities. While this replacement offers some disadvantages, like health problems and being easily disturbed, the usage of online materials is always accessible and convenient for students. Therefore, I think the benefits of this trend outweigh the negative aspects.

Day by day, the use of online books is becoming more common. As a result, the majority of people believe that universities should offer digital materials to students instead of traditional textbooks. However, this may bring some problems to learners, especially the ones related to health. At first, the more people use online resources, the more harmful that will be for their eyes. Using phones and computers for long hours not only contributes to eyesight problems, but also it has long-term effects on sleep management. Additionally, if students use digital materials while studying, they may have difficulty focusing on their studies and can easily be disturbed. For example, whenever people read online books, they will be shown some advertisements and notifications on their phones, which results in being easily and quickly distracted, whereas reading paper-based books helps emphasize studies for long hours.

Despite the negatives mentioned above, I side with those who argue for the replacement of traditional materials at universities. Firstly, online books are convenient in terms of use. Because gadgets for online books store a lot of books which in real-life would be heavy for students to carry with them. There will be no need for storing books or useful materials from the library or in bags, as they can purchase many digital books in one device. For instance, the popularity and increase in buying e-books among students has positively shown its convenience. Another advantage can be their accessibility. Students can use e-books whenever and wherever they want, as they always carry their phones with themselves.

To conclude, although the use of digital materials may bring some problems for students, in my point of view, the benefits of this replacement are more, and they are more convenient and accessible for students as well.