As most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual wellbeing. What factors contribute to job satisfaction? How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers?

In recent years, the job market has became more demanding. Since a major chunk of employees life is spent doing work, they prefer to do work which has a good salary, but due to the increased saturation of the market it has became difficult.

Most importantly, a high pay is one of the main thing people look for their wellbeing while finding work. This is because this element directly contributes to their job satisfaction as the car they will drive or the house they will live in are tied with their living standard. For instance, a person who believes his family is financially free, and they have all the luxries in their house will be more motivated to do his work because this tool allows him to make his children satisfy. Conversely, if a worker was always worried about his monthly expenses, it would make him depressed which will lead to dissatisfaction. Hence, job satisfaction is correlated with it ability to reduce problems in people lives.

As for the expectations, since the founders of firms have different motives, it makes satisfaction hard to attain. This reason stems from the greed of the CEO to make stakeholders happy even if it leads to an increased burden on the employees. For example, to increase the revenue of company workers have to work extra hours this workload causes frustration and anxiety. Yet they have no choice as they will be fired if they did not accept the orders. If these individuals did not change their expectations, they would always be dissatisfied as every job has pros and cons.

To encapsulate, although everyone has a preference for the kind of job they want, these desires should be realistic.