As most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual wellbeing. What factors contribute to job satisfaction? How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers?

It is widely believed that having a satisfying job is a key element of personal well-being. A majority of individuals sacrifice the largest proportion of their lives at work. While some get job satisfaction through pursuing their career, it is not guaranteed to get realistic outcomes. Also, there are many key factors that sustain work satisfaction. In the following paragraphs, I will cover both arguments, and a brief conclusion will be given.

Many factors bring job fulfillment, with the first one being financial compensation. When workers get paid on time, they feel financial security, which in turn provides job security and makes them confident. In addition, supportive colleagues and sensible managing staff can be beneficial to their morale health and how they feel about their workplace. Another crucial aspect is opportunities for growth and flourishing in one’s professional career. For instance, when employees get a promotion, a bonus, or training, their commitment to work increases, and they feel more valued.

On the contrary, these expectations might turn out to be superficial. Firstly, in many countries, workers lack appropriate training, and thus, they barely get any promotion or encouragement. Notably, some jobs are physically demanding, and workers get injured in some cases. Also, in certain professions, workers don’t get flexible working hours, which is important for young mothers. Furthermore, in some countries, some people are forced to work due to family or financial pressure, despite the fact that they have no qualifications or personal interests. Given that some get a job indulgence, this is not feasible to apply to everyone.

To conclude, while financial support and encouragement give job satisfaction, this cannot be achieved by every country’s workers.