As most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual wellbeing. What factors contribute to job satisfaction? How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers?

In recent years, the job market is increasingly becoming more demanding. Since a major chunk of employees life is spent doing work, they prefer to do work which has a good salary; thereby, because of their own choices attaining wellbeing becomes increasingly difficult.

Most importantly, a high pay is one of the main thing people look for their wellbeing while finding work, whereby this element directly contributes to their job satisfaction as the car they will drive or the house they will live in are tied with their living standard. For example, a person who believes his family is financially free, and they have all the luxries in their house will be more motivated to do his work. Likewise, individuals tend to do jobs which match with their interest because it allows them to feel motivated, and they do not have to look for satisfaction in something else. By contrast, If a person was not passionate about what he do, he would look for someother acitivity to get rid of his dissatisfaction.

Furthermore, workers have so many high expectations, whereas mostly they are not able to fullfil them. In particular, If someone gets a bonus or his salary increases but he believes this bonus is not enough, he will not achieve satisfaction as it is an endless loop. Conversely, if a worker sets his goals realistically, he will have a better chance to achieve them. This difference stems from human nature whereby the brain can get satisfaction by doing small tasks in his job, or by doing extremely difficult ones which include a period of dissatisfaction.

In conclusion, although people can attain their wellbeing by different ways, these sources should be feasible, otherwise they will do more harm than good.