As populations grow, places of natural beauty in cities are being used for constructing new houses. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent times, green spaces are increasingly being replaced by housing due to the overpopulation of cities. The downsides of replacing green areas with buildings can include poor air quality and the loss of public spaces but these drawbacks are outweighed by the benefits, such as economic growth and urban development.

One disadvantage of the conversion of urban open spaces into housing projects is decreased air purity. Unlike building houses, planting trees can contribute to the production of oxygen, which counteracts air pollution. This often means that the level of air quality will decline if we construct houses by displacing urban vegetation. Reduction in communal areas can be another drawback. Parks usually provide areas for relaxation and exercise, and fewer parks can reduce this opportunity for citizens. This, in turn, may negatively impact population’s mental health and overall well-being. For example, according to psychologists, if individuals are unable to have a rest or unwind after their hectic schedule, they are likely to become more aggressive and rude, which affects their mental health.

However, the advantages of constructing residential buildings on natural urban land are far greater. One of the major benefits is economic expansion. Unlike planting trees, developing residential units may create job opportunities and boost local economies. An expanding population leads to the growth of more startups or businesses, which can contribute to an increase in national income. Furthermore, not only will the economy improve, but urbanization will also take place. This means that the infrastructure of the city may be developed with energy-efficient designs of buildings or better road conditions. For instance, according to recent reports, in Uzbekistan, ongoing residential development has contributed significantly to the improvement of national infrastructure.

In conclusion, developing housing projects on areas once covered with vegetation may entail several challenges for residents, such as contaminated air and decreased availability of civic spaces. However, the upsides are much more significant, including economic development and metropolitan advancement.