As populations grow, places of natural beauty in cities are being used for constructing new houses. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

After recent population growth, big cities are facing a shortage in housing; therefore, natural beauty spots have been turned into residential projects. This essay highlights the advantages and drawbacks of this shift.

Firstly, one major advantage of this shift is lowering homelessness rates in the city. Having a roof over your head is a fundamental right of all humans, and for having a well-being and functioning community. Furthermore, due to the increased demand and decreased supply of houses, rent prices and housing mortgages will subsequently rise. This inflation will enhance the financial burden on the low-income sector, allowing them to work additional hours to achieve financial security. New York City can be seen as an example, where rents are considered to be the highest in USA, due to ongoing housing crisis, New Yorkers work 55-70 hours per week, that’s more than 90% of their counterparts worldwide, per a study conducted in 2019.

Despite the need to eliminate homelessness, natural beauty places do benefit our society in many ways. One of them is that they preserve a good city image. This can be achieved by the possession of eye-pleasing scenery and trees. This God-given beauty is irreplaceable and can be an attraction for tourists. Additionally, these places are used by individuals as gateway spots in their leisure time. The natural beauty seen there soothes their mind and to unwind after leaving their stressful work environment. Consequently, people will have better mental health and feel less burnt out, allowing them to perform better in all aspects, developing a competent workforce.

In conclusion, however, God-given beauty locations are essential for the mental well-being of citizens, but tackling homelessness is far more important in my opinion.