As the internet becomes more popular, newspapers are becoming a thing of the past. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

With ease in internet accessibility and advancement of online news platforms, people are focusing more on reading news through online platforms, whereas traditional newspapers are now becoming obsolete. I totally agree with this statement and I will explain this with reasons and examples to support my argument.

Firstly, online platform like Twitter is the best example of this new development, where people don’t have to spend extra money to be informed of the latest news around the world. It quickly informs users of any new political, social, economical, technological and legal development around the globe and users can also engage with the important issues to make competent authorities aware to take immediate action. This is absent in traditional newspapers, where only daily news are printed in the morning and do not provide up-to-date information throughout the day. Secondly, environmentalists are showing great concern regarding trees cutting involved in newspaper printing. Most of the big companies have boycotted newspaper printing to save nature, which will ultimately be home for thousand of animals and birds species. For example, printing press companies around the globe have given strict restrictions on paper usage to avoid environmental damage related to tree cutting. This resulted in reduced newspaper usage in today’s world, as people are switching to online news sources.

On the other hand, many old people in Pakistan still prefer reading newspaper like Jhang News and Nawa-e-wakt as a habit which they have developed from their childhood. Due to this reason, newspaper companies like The News still print and distribute them in offices and homes, but majority of people have already shifted to online news platform of mobile application, which are free of cost to enjoy reading news anywhere and anytime of the day.

Hence, it can be concluded that newspaper has now become rare due to introduction of online news platform, which are easily accessible and free of cost. Also, printing newspaper require cutting trees which will adversely effect our environment. As a result, people rely more on internet for news and newspaper quantity decreases.