As the internet becomes more popular, newspapers are becoming a thing of the past. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

We live in a world where the internet has connected all people together allowing them to share and receive information easily. This mission was mainly fulfilled by newspapers which are still struggling to maintain their place in the society. This essay agrees that newspapers can no longer fit in the modern world especially with technological developments.

Newspapers were the most famous mean to remain informed on the planet’s events. Companies were competing fiercely to get people’s attention with captivating titles, triggering the reader’s curiosity. The power of sharing news through this item exceeded expectations as it even allowed some officials to manipulate public opinions on certain subjects to their favour. For example, during the Algerian revolution back in the 1950s, the French colonizer used newspapers to spread fear and doubt among revolutionists.

As technology developed, newspapers have lost their spark. This is because internet allowed a convenient access to all sorts of data such as entertainment, politics or sports. Even newspaper companies like New York Times, have also shifted to online versions with the introduction of live broadcasts and electronic articles. The most interesting advantage is that they can be accessed at any time and are continuously updated with a simple click. For example, BBC phone app comes with pop up notifications feature which allows continuous access to all world’s events.

In conclusion, newspapers’ scarcity and disappearance is only the direct result of modern life developments as the internet gave free and accessible ways to stay informed without a slightest effort.