As the internet becomes more popular, newspapers are becoming a thing of the past. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

It is often said that newspapers have become less popular because of the existence of the internet. I would agree with the previously stated statement because of the easy access and cheaper price to obtain information compared to newspapers.

First and foremost, searching for information in the internet nowadays is very easy. This is because of the invention of gadgets, such as smartphones, which provide internet applications to look for information. These gadgets can be carried everywhere, which means that users can access information at any time. For example, when people hear a rumor about crimes that happen in their area, they can directly browse through the internet to attain more factual information on that rumor. It is a lot faster than obtaining information on the newspapers, which is time-consuming because the readers need to wait for the newspapers to be published later.

Another benefit of using the internet is it does not cost a lot of money. In this case, newspaper readers need to purchase the news items, which only contain a type of news at a specific period. If the readers read more than one type of news sources, it will cost them even more. On the other hand, internet users have a free access to many news websites in the internet, which can provide them with various topics of information. Not only serving news about latest events or problems but also some events occured years ago.

To sum up, I would concur that attaining information in the internet has become more popular at this time because it can be easily accessed and cheaper in price compared to reading newspapers.