As transport and accommodation problems are increasing in many cities, some governments are encouraging businesses to move to rural areas. Do you think that the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

It is observed that in many urban areas, due to the soaring problems of transport and accommodation, businesses are encouraged to relocate to the countryside. Although this trend may bring about certain disadvantages, I believe that the advantages far outweigh them.

Admittedly, this tendency may bring certain disadvantages to society. Firstly, workers may quit their jobs because when they move to rural areas, they have to spend more time commuting a long distance, leading to a lower level of energy. Moreover, due to the smaller talent pool in rural areas, businesses will struggle to recruit skilled laborers, which can cause diminished productivity compared to when they were located in urban areas. Secondly, the cost of transportation and construction will increase because of the long commute. This can make it more challenging and costly to transport products. As a result the profit will plunge considerably or even small companies will face bankruptcy because they cannot pay off debt.

While moving factories to the countryside can be bad in some ways, it brings far more advantages. First and foremost, because of the concentration of many businesses and factories, the job markets will be expanded and become less competitive. Therefore, the unemployed or farmers can have more opportunities to apply for new jobs instead of agriculture, ultimately enhancing their quality of life and alleviating financial pressures on their families. Adding to this, the relocation of the businesses to rural areas will help to reduce the number of vehicles on the road and less traffic congestion in large cities owing to the migration of people from urban to rural areas.

In conclusion, while I acknowledge that the movement of businesses to rural areas may indeed bring certain problems to society, the benefits in terms of congestion and job market are more significant. Based on the aforementioned arguments, I contend that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.