At present, the media affects people's lives significantly. What impact does this have on society? Is it a negative or positive development?

For the last few decades, the media has been proven to considerably influence lives of people. While it positively offers instant communication and the wealth of information, the excess accumulation of time individuals spending on it attributes to many mental and physical concerns.

With the widespread development of technology and social networks, accessing the media nowadays is far easier than it has ever been. People can connect with friends overseas in no time, sharing their lives experiences and ideas freely. This certainly brings in layers of rightfulness into each person’s live on a daily basis. With many options, anyone can seek enjoyment and pleasure at anytime, anywhere. For example, many social networks have millions of members and thousands of post sharing pictures and videos, which is an indication of how engagement people experience.

On the other hand, the time people using on media is considered to have negative effects on mental well-being. There are excessively connections and notifications from variety sources of news and apps, making both young people and workers easily distracted rather than concentrating on finishing what they actually need to do at the moment. Studies have shown a great correlation between media usage and the number of people getting mental health problems and leading a sedentary lifestyle.

In conclusion, despite having apparent benefits on the means of communication, the media is concerned as a primary reason for rapid health issues growing among people. It seems people are connected but in the long run it is likely that they neglect real relationships and life.