Attending a live performance (for example, a play, concert, or sporting event) is more enjoyable than watching the same event on television. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an ever-increasing number of people who believe that attending sports or musical events is more fascinating than watching the same programs on screen. In my opinion, I disagree with this statement and will discuss several reasons in this essay.

There are various compelling reasons why many people enjoy watching events broadcasted on television. Firstly, watching live performances at home is more affordable and even cost-free for the audience. The key rationale is that live show tickets are often sold at expensive prices, especially for popular artists or big productions. By streaming them online or watching recorded versions, viewers can participate without the financial burden of associated costs. Secondly, modern television technology provides viewers with a convenient and safe alternative to attending crowded venues. When people join such places, they will face risks of accidents like injuries, pushing and shoving, as well as criminal activities like theft or pickpocketing, which can be avoided if they enjoy the show at home.

Some people may claim that watching a performance in person offers a unique opportunity for die-hard fans to interact with and show their admiration for their idols. For many people, direct interaction including eye contact, handshakes, or even brief conversations with their favorite artists could create a much more pleasant experience rather than watching through a screen. However, such thinking is only valid to a limited extent, it is challenging for the celebrities to provide personalized attention to each attendee because the sheer size of the crowd in the venues. By contrast, whether in person or online, fans have various other ways to show their support and connect with the artists they admire. For example, fans can follow artists, like and comment on their posts, share their work, and even participate in live streams or Q&A sessions on social media platforms.

In conclusion, although watching a live performance has its merits, I would contend that watching a live performance on TV is a more convenient and money-saving choice.