Both men and women these days work full-time, so it is logical for them to share household chores equally. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that nowadays, the percentage of dual-income familes has witnessed a significant increase. In my opinion, I do believe that it is essensial that both men and female have responsibilities for doing the household chores.

Firstly, old patterns of behavior are no longer appropriate in the modern family, in which both men and women have to work full-time to make money. Traditionally, women did not have to go to work and were expected to stay at home and be in charge of the chores. However, these days, there is no reason to expect working mother to do all the household chores because along with men, they also have to be breadwinners. Due to that, it is impossible for women to handle all the household chores and houseworks must be shared equally according to one’s strength in order to help women reduce stress, enhance family relationship and also provide a sense of commitment for men.

Secondly, although both men and women have a heavy workload, due to advancement of technology, there are lots of appliances to make chores easier to share. Microwaves, dish-washers aids to housework can be operated by anyone, regardless of gender and age. For example, thanks to the invention of washing machine, instead of washing clothes by hand, people now just need to put their clothes into the machine, adding detergent and press the button which can save a lot of time and efforts. Sharing chores therefore becomes easiers due to those inventions.

In conclusion, I support the opinion that when both men and women are in full-time jobs, it is important to share the household chores equally, especially since the chores are made much lighter and easire these days.