Caring for children is probably the most important job in any society. Because of this, all mothers and fathers should be required to take a course that prepares them to be good parent. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

It is suggested that everyone should undertake mandatory parenting courses inasmuch as the role of parents in society is vital. I agree with this proposition as it promotes positive parenting practices that foster safety, well-being and permanency for children and families.

One tangible benefit of mandating parenting courses is that it allows individuals, especially soon-to-be parents or first-time parents of newborns, to acquire critical parenting techniques, facilitating physical, mental, and emotional development of a child. Child-rearing is a complex and multidimensional process, requiring specific knowledge about proper nutrition, hygiene, and safe sleep environments. By making attending parenting classes compulsory, concerned parties can ensure that parents receive adequate training and education to navigate the challenges inherent in child upbringing, building a healthy and happy family dynamic.

Another potential benefit associated with making parent education obligatory for all mothers and fathers is the potential to reduce the risk of child abuse and neglect. A growing body of research indicates a positive correlation between child maltreatment by parents and behavioral and developmental issues. The vast majority of school bullies and even criminals are believed to have been subjected to physical or emotional abuse during their formative years. In attending parenting programs, individuals can receive support and learn essential strategies to better interact with their children and handle their parenting roles safely, creating a conducive environment for physically and mentally healthy development.

In conclusion, I am in favor of mandatory parenting education as it equips couples with parenting techniques for raising healthy and happy children along with actionable strategies that may lessen the likelihood of child maltreatment to ensure children’s safe development. Governments should adopt the policy of mandated participation in parent education programs to provide children with a safe and happy childhood.