Celebrities make a very good living out of media attention and have chosen to live in the public spotlight. They have no right to complain when they feel the media are intruding on their privacy. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is true that celebrities enjoy a generous living in large part thanks to the frequent media coverage and attention that they generate, maintaining them at the center of everyday people’s lives. Although media coverage comes with the territory of being a modern celebrity, it is my belief that there is a line that gets crossed occasionally that can result in a violation of that celebrity’s right to privacy.

I have to admit that when a celebrity makes a sizable living, people tend to forget that although these celebrities enjoy the rewards of financial freedom and fame exclusive to a select few; they are people first and go through challenging personal situations. For example, in 2003 Kobe Bryant was arguably the best basketball player in the world and enjoyed major celebrity status and recognition at the time. Despite that fact, he was heavily scrutinized for the better part of that season due to a trial for non consensual relationship with a female. The constantly negative media coverage that season had a strong impact on his performance and mental health as his character was constantly being questioned.

Similarly, Princess Diana faced a difficult situation in 1997 towards the end of her life when paparazzi were essentially stalking her in hoards attempting to get reaction from her in hopes of writing a huge story and making a profit. It is true that part of their job is to try to capture photos and responses from celebrities to help write a story; however, it becomes a violation when that celebrity is under constant surveillance by people simply trying to get a reaction out of them. Princess Diana admitted in some of her last conversations that she felt constantly watched and that it impacted her psychologically.

To make things worse, thanks to social media’s increased influence on the general public, nasty rumors get generated about celebrities in hopes of getting a large scandal and writing a big story. In 2023, the basketball shooting guard Josh Giddey from the Oklahoma City Thunder was accused of inappropriate relations with a minor during the team’s regular season. Before the facts were even fully reviewed, many in the public eye started to categorize Josh as a bad person; thus, severely impacting his mental health and even played a role in the player being traded to another team by the end of the season. Once he was acquitted of all charges and the media asked him for his thoughts, he stated how hurt he felt by all those people who simply accepted the accusations and sent lots of hate content towards him throughout that season.

To conclude, I do believe that receiving heavy media coverage comes with the territory of being a celebrity in the modern age; however, there needs to be a better balance towards the extent that media can access those celebrities to ensure that they maintain some degree of privacy that all people are entitled to today.