Children are now less active in their free time than in the past. therefore, sports lessons must be compulsory in schools. to what extent do you agree or disagree? give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some people say that pupils are not playing as much as they used to. That’s why schools should make sure all students have sports classes. I personally agree with this conviction and will explain why in this essay.

Firstly, sports lessons can help children develop useful life-skills like discipline, work, and handling situations when playing as a team, which are important for success in both academic and personal life. Children nowadays spend too much time in front of computer screens, such as homework, formulas, and social media. Therefore, they lack the opportunities for real experience and find it difficult when they need to handle a problem. However, children who engage in sports activities can better handle various situations and work effectively with others. For example, they learn how to plan, communicate, cooperate, and solve problems during the games.

Secondly, physical activity enhances children’s mental health. Obviously, sport lessons help reduce stress, leading to improved mood and mental well-being. In today’s world, students usually feel overwhelmed by exams and homework, and participating in sports like basketball, volleyball,…makes them more relaxed and happier.

In conclusion, I strongly agree that children are now less active in their free time than in the past. Moreover, sports lessons in schools not only help children develop physical health but also mental health. Schools should make these activities mandatory subjects, but balanced so that children can develop comprehensively.