Children find it difficult to concentrate on or pay attention to school. What are the reasons ? How can we solve this problem?

Nowadays, young individuals are having trouble focusing their attention on their studies and academic chores. This could be a result of the excessive use of technology or due to a poor education system. In this essay, I intend to explore these reasons and find solutions for them.

Firstly, the overuse of technology jeopardizes children’s attention. Children have access to technology devices, such as tablets, mobile phones and computers, from a very young age, and their brains get used to being educated by videos, music and movies. As a result, a more practical and interactive way of teaching is required to attract these children. However, many schools still have the old education system, which relies on theoretical classes where children are prohibited from speaking, leading them to boredom, and potentially to a lack of focus in their studies.

Furthermore, several solutions could be applied to solve this problem, such as changing the educational system and, educating teachers with new teaching techniques. For instance, instead of theoretical teaching, teachers could potentially develop an online platform which could allow students to play educational games, this way they might be entertained and learning at the same time. Another solution could possibly be re-educating the current teachers. This means teaching them how to attract contemporary children and make them pay attention in classes. To illustrate, in Portugal, some schools are adopting a new concept of teaching through music, making students memorise the syllabus by singing.

In conclusion, several children find it hard to concentrate in classes because of the excessive utilization of technology, and due to a poor educational system. I wholeheartedly opine that changing this system to a more practical one and re-educating professors could potentially solve this problem.