Children find it difficult to concentrate on or pay attention to school. What are the reasons ? How can we solve this problem?

In recent times, a serious decline in children’s ability to focus on lectures in school has become a significant concern. In my point of view, this issue can be attributed to several factors, mainly from lack of sleep and technology distractions. However, restrictions on phone use and promoting healthy sleep habits are feasible measures that can be implemented to mitigate the problem.

To begin with, insufficient sleep and technology usage are the primary reasons for increasing distraction and interruption of students. In the first place, lack of sleep which is repeated frequently will wear out both physical and mental health, leading to serious disease, especially among school-age children. Students today need to satisfy the demand of schoolwork, extracurricular activities, which can lead to sleep deprivation and negative effects on cognitive functions like attention and memory. Moreover, the omnipresence of technology also plays a vital role in diminishing concentration. Devices such as smartphones or tablets nowadays let children access instantly to social media and games. For instance, children are now more and more addicted to playing games and utilizing social media such as Facebook, Instagram, etc… instead of doing schoolwork or even relaxing. The constant bombardment of notifications and messages can fragment their attention, leading to lack of knowledge and terrible results. In addition, children, especially those studying in gifted schools or competitive environments, often unabsorbed the entire lectures while sleeping late and overusing technology devices.

However, planning better schedules and reducing technology usage are effective measures which can be done to address the problem. Firstly, understanding clearly the essential benefits of having good sleep hygiene can make a significant difference. Both parents and children together need to plan an appropriate and feasible timetable for everyday. Therefore, children can make a better strategy, balancing between studying, entertaining and relaxing. That can help ensure children are well-rested and ready to learn. Furthermore, removing distractions, especially technology gadgets, is also a feasible solution. Laws should be revised at school to add more restrictions on electronic devices usage. For instance, smartphones must be kept in a box during class, and students can only use them in emergencies or to handle urgent work. If any individual violates, they will be punished such as writing a self-criticism report or being banned from using the device for a period of time. Additionally, children should enhance self-awareness not only to have a better concentration at schools, but also in their daily life.

In conclusion, insufficient sleep and technology distractions are mainly responsible for the situation and I hope that could be improved by planning better schedules and reducing technology usage. In addition, children should be guided to create a long-term strategy for boosting their studying results and quality of life.