Children today play very violent games. This must be the reason for the increase in violence and crime in most major cities of the world. What are your opinions on this?

There is no doubt that these days violence and crime rates have sky rocketed specially in major cities. Although there are many reasons behind it, some stands more than the others. And the most popular question among them is, do games played by children have a significant role in this or not? In this essay, I am going to address this issue in more details drawing my own conclusion.

In terms of causes, many people strongly believe that this kind of games is the biggest factor in spreading violence. The main reason given to support such claim is that children are easily affected by what they watch and experience, which stick to their minds till after adulthood. To illustrate, with the arrival of modern versions of video games, most parents with children younger than 15 years old noticed a change in their kids’ behaviors. They became more ill-behaved with anger issues, had a lot more mood swings and as a result became tolerant towards violence. In other words, such games distort the fragile mentality of youngsters. This could later develop into a rather serious problem.

However, others argue against this saying that there is no logical link between the two. Firstly, a criminal is someone with psychological issues. In other words, upbringing at home plays the decisive role in creating one if it is accompanied with child-abuse or negligence. Secondly, moral teaching at schools is more of an issue rather than those pass-times. This is because most schools nowadays tend to focus on scientific acquisition compared to ethics and morals. Also, laws in significant cities are to blame for the outbreak in crime rates. Many do not have firm punishments for smalls crimes such as shop-lifting, which in result, encourage those small outlaws to turn into a bigger danger in the future.

In conclusion, although this issue has much diversity and causes behind it like: parenting, curriculum and law, we can’t exclude the fact that childhood is a vulnerable phase that affects our entire life span. Therefore, I believe in the danger of those games on our off springs and their direct link to crime.