Children today play very violent games. This must be the reason for the increase in violence and crime in most major cities of the world. What are your opinions on this?

A lot of big cities today experience an increase in crime level. Some people link this trend with the fact that children today are playing games that include violence. I strongly disagree with this idea and provide arguments and examples in the following essay.

First of all, children do not necessarily copy the inhumane and cruel behaviour that is shown in violent games they play. They do realize that it is only a game and no damage could be done if they harm a made-up character. The acts of violence or vandalism young people might commit during the play have nothing to do with their real life, that is, it does not mean that the same things they would do with an actual living being. Mainly, because they know that in the real life they would have to face the consequences for their destructive actions.

Secondly, if a child was raised right, that is, he/she was taught about empathy and basic behaviour rules, his/her mindset would notChildren today play very violent games. This must be the reason for the increase in violence and crime in most major cities of the world. be affected by brutal scenes they saw on the computer’s screen. They know that it is wrong to act this way, so they would not apply violence out of the game. Basically, they see games only as a source of fun and do not take them seriously. For example, the same could be said about the action movies. There are violent scenes in them, yet no viewer would actually do the same thing a main hero in the movie has done themselves.

To conclude, the reason for the increase in violence and crime in cities is not lying in the children playing brutal games. Children do know the that it is not adequate to act the way the game heroes do. Moreover, the child’s upbringing given by his/her parents can help them to remember that violence can not be used out of the games they play.