Children today play very violent games. This must be the reason for the increase in violence and crime in most major cities of the world. What are your opinions on this?

Nowadays, the question of the effect of computer games on children is a subject of heated debate. Every time after a high-profile crime committed by teenagers, people blame a variety of reasons for this, including computer games. For some people, there is an obvious link between violent computer games and an increase in crime. I completely disagree with this idea, because in my opinion there are a lot more important things that drive people to start committing crimes

First of all, playing computer games provides a huge number of advantages such as the developing mental and social skills as well as the ability to solve complex tasks. However, some people are convinced that it provokes an impressive increase in the level of aggression, on the contrary, it doesn’t lead to dramatic result. For example, some studies have shown that there is a slight effect, about 0,4 % of forms of aggression are caused by computer games. What’s more, it sometimes helps to reduce the stress levels of young people and allow them to vent their negative emotions.

From my perspective, the financial situation in a country is the most important and has the most impact on the level of delinquency in the country. For instance, when there is a high level of unemployment and poverty in the country, people commit crimes more often. The other factor is the environment in which a child grows up. For instance, if the atmosphere at home is tense, if a child faces is humiliated at school and if there is constant information about encouranged violence by the government from the media, it isn’t surprising that the child will grow up with a distorted view of the world. This child is more likely to become a criminal than the child who only plays violent computer games.

In conclusion, from my point of view, the society needs to pay their attention to the deeper factors, instead of blaming the things that are at the top, such as violent computer games, music and films.