Cities should be designed to be attractive for local people and foreign tourists. Do you agree or disagree?

In any case, attractiveness is a key feature that draws the attention of many eyes. Thus, it is crucial for cities to be attractive in order to both retain local residents as well as to invite foreign tourists for travelling purposes. Tourism will allow the city to thrive financially, through the inflow of money spent on tourist attractions which include theme parks and famous landmarks. With social media travel influencers growing in popularity, it becomes all the more important to design an attractive city that tourists will promote to their loyal followers. Local people may also feel a sense of pride and belonging knowing that they reside in a popular tourist destination, ensuring their stay in the long-run.

However, the creation of an attractive city comes with its own expenses. In order to design an eye-catching city, one must consider the manpower needed, the costs of materials required, and the time it will take to be implemented. Local residents may complain about the noise of construction and the increase in traffic on roads. In severe cases, this may result in their relocation to a different city entirely. Some residents may also protest against the use of money for tourist attractions as they believe that more finance should be invested into improving existing facilities.

In conclusion, while there are benefits to designing a city that is attractive to both local people and foreign tourists, it is also important to keep in mind the resources needed to do so. While an attractive city has the ability to raise money in the long-run as a result of tourism and a flourishing population, it also is prone to resource depletion due to the heavy amount of work required to build said city.