Compared to the past, more people are now studying abroad because it is more convenient and cheaper than before. Do you think this is beneficial to the foreign student's home country? Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Many students from various corners of the globe are now studying internationally for the purpose of convenience and conserving money. From this arises several implications for one’s native country. In my view, this movement abroad for the purpose of studying is detrimental for one’s nation for several reasons.

Firstly, studying abroad deprives competent workers who otherwise might be working locally. Since academic institutions in first-world countries provide excellent education quality, the students—including natives and foreigners—tend to be tremendously qualified for work after studies. For example, an individual who studied at a medical university with adequate facilities and professors tend to be well-versed than the average in medical workspace when employed. As a result, countries which host preeminent academic institutions harbor all the competent laborers, leaving a few for the countries from which these workers are actually derived. Secondly, studying abroad brings economic side-effects on one’s nation, which might result into low GDP and weak economy, leading to inflation of consumer products such as food and general necessities. Therefore, individuals’ studying abroad has several implications on the manpower and the economy of one’s nation.

Indeed, nations’ lending individuals for education abroad also has benefits. An instance of which is when a foreign university student accomplishes his degree he employs his knowledge and expertise to work back in his country, contributing to the overall numbers of special laborers. Another instance of this merit is the international recognition for one’s native land, because it is where the first-world nations’ competent workers originated. Despite these advantages, however, the general implications on one’s nation outweigh them.

In summary, the increase of numbers of people studying internationally is detrimental due to its ramifications on the economy and manpower of one’s nation.