Competition for university study is becoming increasingly strong. Why are universities becoming more competitive? Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, it can already be seen that competition for university study is growing rapidly. The universities are becoming more concerned with already smart students, and students are interested in gorgeous universities. As a result, competition is unavoidable due to students’ and universities interests. In this essay, I am going to analyse why this trend is becoming more and more popular and describe why I believe this development is positive.

Firstly, this trend became common for a variety of reasons. The competition may be a good instrument for students to study hard and achieve their goals. For example, my friend went to a prestigious Ukrainian university in Kiyv, and there was quite fierce competition to get there, like exams and interviews. In the end, my friend succeeded through hard training and working on himself. Therefore, those kinds of competitions may have particularly remarkable results and motivate students to do their best. As a consequence of such competition, it is essential better preparation of students for a university, due to this,universities get better students who are better and ready to study.

Secondly, because of various factors, I see this situation positively. Truly, all students are interested in particularly gorgeous and prestige universities, and as a result, there is competition between students. For instance, it is evident that Oxford University is a great university, which is why students compete with each other to get places there because places are limited. As a result, students are more likely to compete and kind of fight for their opportunity to study and they will continue to do this even in university and outdoors.To summarize, competition increases students’ confidence and reduces their fear of competing, which I believe is a significant benefit.

In conclusion, competition for university admission is becoming increasingly fierce, but I strongly believe that this should not be seen as a negative development. In fact, this kind of competition motivates people to go beyond their academic abilities and develop valuable qualities. However, they should be encouraged to balance their academic pursuits with their health.