Computers and smart phones will be the death of handwriting, spelling and grammar. Do you agree?

Nowadays, there is a widespread belief that gadgets lead to the decline of handwriting, grammar and spelling. In my opinion, that is actually a big problem. I firmly believe this view is correct and in this essay, I will support my opinion with examples.

Firstly, with the growing popularity of phones and computers , people are writing less by hand, this causes handwriting skills and writing speed to decline. It happens because regular handwriting practice diminishes. There are some devices that have a stylus, which could keep some writing elements, but often it differs from classic pen and a piece of paper.

Another reason why I agree with the statement is that inbuilt AI corrects mistakes, which could also de-motivate individuals to learning and remembering grammar. Also, people often use more slang and abbreviations in social media and messengers. Constant communication in that format could cause the habit of writing correctly to weaken.

On the other hand, we are switching to a point, where everything will be automated and there would not be any need to know all the grammar and spelling. What I mean by this, is that automated grammar correction allows to accelerate the process of writing a text and focus on the content, sparing from manual fixing.

In conclusion, while computers have changed the way that we write, as people become more dependent on autocorrection, manual writing skills are becoming neglected. If this continues, future generations may struggle with basic writing ability.