Computers and smart phones will be the death of handwriting, spelling and grammar. Do you agree?

It is generally acknowledged that contemporary devices, namely: computers and smartphones will be the prior reason of deprived legibility, reduced grammatical exposure, and exacerbated spelling. Personally, I strongly endorse this perspective, in light of the fact that the considerable impact and dominance of modern trends and tendencies is gradually tarnishing an overall performance in these fields.

Obvious dominance of modernized technology can be seen in its public prevalence and wide internalization even in higher institutions. A huge diversity of devices now serves as facilitation for challenges confronted by paper-based writing, reducing the need and urge to practice handwriting. Hence, the long-term elimination of expression in this way has a probability of resulting in significant aggravations. Moreover, present-day innovations are ubiquitously deployed for educational purposes by the abundance of universities, digitalizing teaching through electronic boards and leaving almost no chance for further development of handwriting in society, specifically among youths. As an example, through research, that was conducted recently, it is transparent that people belonging to a higher age category are prone to be superior in legible handwriting, compared with the growing generation.

Modern abbreviations and slang, eminent among teenagers are perceived to be factors in growing literacy problems. There is an accelerated standardization of informal vocabulary in social media platforms and general speech, which is leading to reduced exposure to various grammatical structures and inability to write words accurately. To illustrate, according to scrutiny, accomplished on a wide range of occupations, it is evident that those who are engaged in formal communication have a better capability to formulate their thoughts according to the basics of standard English.

To sum up, everything that has been stated so far, an exceeding amount of individuals are convinced that recent innovations are indeed precarious for the thriving of grammatical literacy, legibility, and spelling. This essay expresses my agreement and elaborates on the reasons, providing examples for my endorsement.