Computers and smart phones will be the death of handwriting, spelling and grammar. Do you agree?

Since the rise of digital technology, various areas of our lives such as shopping, communication, studying have undergone significant change. However, there are also some drawbacks, one of which is a rising concern – potential illiteracy. I fully support this view.

To begin with, one of the main reasons this is a possible threat is the use autocorrection and smart suggestion features. To elaborate, these functions help with spelling mistakes and sentence construction by selecting suitable words. As a result, people pay less attention to these aspects, leading to frequent spelling mistakes and a limited vocabulary when writing by hand. It can be seen clearly among teenagers, as individuals from this age group tend to use phones more often: they have more difficulties finding synonyms or misspelling words compared to before.

Furthermore, texting on phones or computers requires less effort. In other words, to write on these devices you only have to press keys on a keyboard, but writing on a paper requires time and patience. Moreover, correcting mistakes is easier on digital devices: theres no need to cross them out, use eraser, or liquid corrector, so people started to prefer typing for its convenience. But, the problem is that over time, it can be difficult to return to writing. For example, after long break, such as during the summer, when people rely solely on their phones, their handwriting may look awkward, simply because they’ve forgotten how to hold a pen properly.

Phones and computers are the easier options for writing, so people start to choose it over the traditional way. If this trend continues, illiteracy could become a major issue for future generations. In conclusion, I agree with this statement and believe that it should be addressed.