Computers are now the basis of the modern world. They should therefore be introduced into classrooms, and their programs used for direct teaching purposes. However, dependence on computers in teaching may carry a certain degree of risk to students. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

In today’s world, computers dominate every aspect of life, including education. While some opinions state that they should be provided for teaching, there’s a growing concern that over-reliance on computerization may pose several risks to students. From my point of view, I partially agree with this statement for some reasons below.

On the one hand, computerized classrooms may have positive points for students. First of all, computers can facilitate the transmission of knowledge to learners. With the aid of multimodal teaching supports, they can easily be engaged and mesmerized in the lesson instead of traditional blackboards, which promotes technology utilization as well as memorization and understanding of the lessons. Furthermore, these classrooms will enrich learners’ technology literacy. They can benefit themselves from gaining advantages through integrating computers in learning, hence, they can get access to various future job opportunities.

On the other hand, overdependence on them may lead to plenty of downsides, such as distraction and poor physical health. To commence with, using computers while studying can distract students from concentration. Since the Internet makes it possible and accessible for them to reach sources of entertainment, their attention span will be decreased. Also, learners can lack self-discipline while using computers if there is no teacher’s supervision. Another side effect of placing heavy reliance on them is the harm to physical well-being. As long as students are exposed to the screen for a long period, they can suffer from several health issues, for example, eye strain and headaches.

In conclusion, students can derive substantial advantages from computer integration into classrooms, yet it will result in many undesirable consequences. Therefore, learners should utilize the pros of computerized classrooms as well as avoid excessive dependence on them.