Consumption of butter margarine and fat spread trough out the 1981–2007

The given line chart portrays the three varieties of spreads which were consumed during 26 years time span in 1981–2007. The units are measured in grams.

As an overview it was observed that the butter reflected a dramatic drop throughout the years while margarine illustrated a marginally fluctuated trend until it significantly drop in 2001. Low fat spread became widely popular in 2001 and continued to be most consumed product compared to the margarine and butter.

Initially in 1981 butter stood as the highest consumption at approximately 140 grams prior to dramatic drop by 50 grams in 1986. Eventually butter remained to continue a decline trend throughout 1996 to 2007. Usage of margarine began around 90 grams in 1981 and depicted a negligible decline until 1986. Following that the consumption intend to grow and illustrate a steady usage at 100 grams over 5 years. Moreover, in 2001 utilization of margarine took a downward trend declined by 20 grams in2007 compared to the butter. However, low fat spread initiate the consumption around 10 grams and remarkably accelerated to 80 grams in 2001. Thereafter, the low fat spread remained as highest consumed product through the later period.