Convenience foods will become increasingly prevalent and eventually replace traditional foods and traditional methods of food preparation. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this option?

These days we can see a lot of dishes that can be cooked easily and quickly by anyone, which are known by the convenience foods. Many people argue that these kinds of food will increase in popularity until they take over the traditional foods and traditional cooking methods. However I don’t completely agree with this opinion for three reasons.

Convenience foods are very easy to make and doesn’t take much time to be prepared, which makes it easy for most of the people to cook on their own, quickly prepare their food without the risk of being late of any appointment and help them live independently. However it is impossible for them to taste like traditional foods which take its time to be cooked perfectly, which is the first reason. The second reason is that there is a great number of meals that can’t be made convenient because they have to be prepared traditionally with fresh ingredients, effort and time, for instance the traditional Sudanese meal which is called (Kawari’), which requires about 24 hours to be cooked, or it will taste horrible! (Kawari’) is just one example of many.

The third and main reason is that in fact, cooking is an art! There are many talent shows that host chefs from all over the world who are involved in competitions to take the name of the (Top Chef). Hence it’s impossible for convenience foods to entirely replace traditional foods.

To conclude, convenience foods are very useful and have many advantages and we can see them everywhere nowadays, nevertheless they can’t replace the traditional cooking because it is an art and it can produce very interesting tasty dishes that require artists with great patience and perfect fresh ingredients.