Convenience foods will become increasingly prevalent and eventually replace traditional foods and traditional methods of food preparation. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this option?

It is commonly believed that convenience foods will be increasingly consumed by people, which will cause traditional foods and cooking methods to gradually disappear. By contrast, I strongly oppose this idea. In my view, convenience foods cannot replace the traditional ones due to numerous reasons.

Firstly, there are myriad types of cuisine across the world, which enable people to experience different tastes. Furthermore, individuals love having multiple options in a matter. However, convenience foods always contain specific ingredients, and this situation may cause a great discontentment among society due to the lack of choices in food. For example, in many interview videos, people were asked that if they would eat certain foods throughout their lives. Consequently, a majority of individuals stated that they would mentally struggle even if the foods are nutritious enough.

On the other hand, traditional foods and methods are inherent in people’s lives. As it is known, cuisine and food preparation techniques come from the past, and individuals tend to perceive these things as the legacy of their ancestors. Therefore, I firmly believe that convenience foods cannot prevail over traditional foods or methods at all. For instance, in Turkey, a significant number of people do not even purchase frozen products instead of cooking their delicious local foods at home. Moreover, some renowned market chains in Turkey do not even try to sell these types of products anymore.

In conclusion, the popularity of convenience foods is growing as the years go on. However, the variety that local foods and cooking methods offer and the general idea regarding the same topics among society are the primary factors that would never allow convenience foods to dominate traditional foods or ways of cooking over time.