Countries with a long average working time are more economically successful, but they are also likely to suffer from negative social consequences. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In today’s world, long working hours have become a prevalent approach believed to bring financial advantages in some nations, while many people are of the opinion that this implication could result in detrimental effects on society. I personally concur with this statement as such practices come at a significant cost to societal health.

On the one hand, extended average workday offers several benefits for the development of a country, especially economy. Having extra time to work instead of following standard working hour policy enables people to accomplish their tasks and objectives earlier and achieve outcomes that are hard to obtain in short period. As a result, companies, entrepreneurs, and employees are able to work on their projects more thoroughly and effectively, bolstering financial achievement as a whole and fostering individuals’ well-being. Additionally, according to some scientific research, people with better earnings tend to spend more on recreational, travel sectors as a way to compensate themselves after a hard day’s work, which creates a more dynamic market and eventually enhances national economic growth.

On the other hand, prolonged working time could result in negative impacts on social facets. Firstly, humans are creatures that favour the comfort and enjoyment over working. This trait makes people feel discontent about jobs, and easily getting stressed as the time at workplace is extended, leading to lower efficiency and a higher degree of employee turnover. This damages the company growth and leads to financial issues due to increased time, expenditure, and effort spent on training new employees. In addtion to mental health, more people have to deal with physical problems which are worse as time people sit in a place becomes longer accompanied with the fact that most of occupation follows sedentary style.

In short, although nations with long working time are benefited with economic advantages and a more dynamic market, citizens can be influenced negatively in both mental and physical perspectives in long term. In my opinion, a balanced approach should be applied by adopting measures such as flexible work hours and promoting a healthy work-life balance. Therefore, nations can achieve economic success without sacrificing societal health.