Countries with a long average working time are more economically successful, but they are also likely to suffer from negative social consequences. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is often argued that countries with people working for extended hours are more likely to be economically prosperous, yet this can result in negative social repercussions. From my perspective, I completely agree with this phenomenon and in this essay, I will provide a host of compelling reasons to shed light on my opinion.

On the one hand, there are a plethora of pessimistic results that workers might deal with due to the economic success of their nations. The main one is their health problems which play an indispensable in their lives. To be more specific, long working hours may be associated with numerous health issues involving chronic stress, anxiety, cardiovascular diseases, and mental health issues such as depression and neuron hurt. Some researchers reported higher incidences of work-related illnesses compared to other issues. Japan, for instance, poses 58% of the abnormal suicide rate due to the exhausting of working overtime which is considered as an alarm for countries and citizens. The second consequence is weakened residents’ family ties which can directly disrupt the balance between work and personal life. To be explained, if they are left with little to no time for their families, they will be strained family relationships and reduced their social cohesion.

On the other hand, there are two main feasible causes to make light of the economic success due to the prolonged working hours which are creativity and revenue. The first reason is increasing workers’ productivity and output which brings lots of benefits for enterprises. To be more specific, if employees spend more time on tasks, they will produce more high-quality goods and services for serving customers. Hence, they will increase their productivity and get a motivation to boost the nation’s GDP. A possible example of this situation is Japan, which stood at the second-highest position with around 19 trillion dollars in the US News and Sport Report for its prosperity together with top-tier products and the competence of residents. Furthermore, the second is higher their income levels through extended working hours. The explanation for this is understandable almost all employees are often compensated for their efforts to overtime thus boosting consumer spending and stimulating the advancement of the inland economy.

In conclusion, I firmly coincide with this phenomenon. Despite imposing prolonged working hours for laborers contributing to foster the economy of their nations, I believe it is an imprudent decision that can adverse the health of citizens.