Countries with a long average working time are more economically successful, but they are also likely to suffer from negative social consequences. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There’s a statement saying that countries with a long average working time are more economically successful but they are also more likely to suffer from adverse social consequences. I fully agree with the prior opinion and I’m going to elaborate in the following paragraphs.

Going straight into the point, there’s a country that perfectly represents both of the problems above, which is Japan. For instance, they are widely known for their high ranking in the economy for a long period of time, as well as the enormous amount of laboring,especially for the citizens with a standard white-collared job. Therefore, it’s evident that longer work time leads to success.

On the social side, Japan has also undergone an extremely low fertility rate and it only has been increasing since. Furthermore, citizens of Japan tend to get mental health issues such as stress, anxiety, depression and more to tell. Both of those factors are derived from overworking.To elaborate, with a work-packed schedule, people often lose the opportunity as well as the motivation to do other stuff than work because of tiredness and insufficient time.

In conclusion, longer work time leads a country to success in the economy with a price of suffering detrimental social problems in the long term.